Welcome to John Moser's Image Workshop / Playground

Mandala Du Jour – 1-23-14

IMG_1070-M3

Lately, I’ve been trying to develop methods for making mandalas with specific geometry. A lot of the recent mandalas end up as approximate hexagons or crosses, but I wanted to make pentagons. So I set up a pre-recorded action in photoshop that rotates the canvas 72 degrees (1/5 of a circle). The process steps: rotate canvas 72 degrees, mirror along vertical centerline and repeat until a pleasing pentagonal symmetry appears. One interesting aspect is that the original shape is a rectangle, and here I’ve left the image uncropped to show the 10 corners of the original rectangle that are created. Five will get you ten. Here is the image I started with:

IMG_1070

One response

  1. J Moser

    Ok, I’ve refined the math. My 72 degrees actually creates a 10 sided figure. Maybe the mirroring doubles the outcome? Now I’ve switched to a 36 degree rotation (1/10the of a circle) and I’m getting true 5 sided figures. But, I don’t understand why five will get you ten, but ten will get you five. I didn’t do well in math in high school.

    January 23, 2014 at 6:52 pm

Leave a Reply

