Welcome to John Moser's Image Workshop / Playground

The End of Things – Part 2.1

telecaster-bye-bye

Musicians develop a fondness for their instruments sometimes. I certainly do. I’ve never named my instruments, like some musicians, but I get quite attached to them. There is history associated with each guitar and it can be hard to part with them when the time comes. I remember in earlier days, when I could barely afford to own one guitar at a time and my guitar was usually the most valuable single thing I owned. There were many times when I would sell my instruments to make rent money. I still recall every guitar I’ve owned. Some of them were not that great and I don’t miss them. But others were special and hard to part with. There was a very sweet fretless Precision bass I had back in the 70’s that I still regret selling to this day.  I still miss my Sears and Roebuck Silvertone, too.

A few years ago, I went through a period of unusual economic prosperity that allowed me the luxury to grow my collection of guitars. At one point, I had twenty four guitars. That collection included some oddities – I had three early 90’s Charvel Surfcasters (a very oddball guitar that I just like alot) that were identical except for their colors. With the recent recession, I’ve found it “opportune” to thin my instrument collection here and there. I’ve now sold off all the guitars that didn’t matter that much and am working my way into the ones that count.  Even at my age, it seems that I’m not immune from occasionally needing to scramble for rent money. So, today, I shipped off two more guitars to happy EBAY buyers in New Jersey and Ohio and a fellow will drive down from northern Virginia tomorrow to pick up my bass (yes, another fine Precision bass slips through my fingers).

I thought that documenting my history with some of these instruments might make it a little easier to part with them. They’ve served me well and at least I have some audio, video and still pictures to commemorate them.

The guitar above is the Fender Telecaster that my wife, Talia, bought me for my birthday back in about 1992. I used this instrument with the band Dirtball, as we toured and recorded during that band’s heyday. This was the guitar I played on the recording of my song, “Cloudy Moon,” that was included on Dirtball’s second record, “The Well.” Here is a video clip of Dirtball playing at the Flood Zone in 1994 that features this Telecaster:

The other instrument that went it’s merry way today is this one:

stratocaster-bye-bye

This is my Fender “VG” Stratocaster, now on its way to a new home in Ohio. This was an experimental guitar for Fender that featured an extra pickup that could model different guitar sounds and tunings. I thought it was great guitar and I loved being able to change tunings at the turn of a knob. But these didn’t sell well and Fender discontinued them after the first year of production. I never did a whole lot of gigging with this guitar, but I played it a lot. I did use it on some early gigs with the Mag Bats, but its best moment was probably when I sat in with Gongzilla on my 53rd birthday. Thankfully, the moment was captured by one of Richmond’s greatest photographers, Otway 3:

Well, that’s enough loss for one day. My guitar collection is getting pretty thin and I still have to sell some of them. I have one on EBAY right now that is a super special guitar that I once took on tour to Europe. I am kind of hoping it doesn’t sell. If it does, I’ll provide tribute here. It helps me deal with it!

I do have one guitar that I’ll never sell no matter how bad things get. My W.C. Henderson #277 is not going anywhere. Ever. If I have anything to say about it.

By the way, the title of this post – “The End of Things” – is a continuation of a trend that I first noted and began documenting back in September, 2006. Here is a link to “The End of Things – Part 1” :  https://boatdog.wordpress.com/2013/02/10/the-end-of-things-part-1-redone/

4 responses

  1. Oh geez, Johnny. This does make me sad. Wah.

    July 2, 2013 at 8:44 am

  2. July 2, 2013 at 5:43 pm

  3. July 21, 2013 at 10:38 pm

    • J Moser

      Yeah, I like that video!

      July 22, 2013 at 10:24 am

Leave a Reply

