Welcome to John Moser's Image Workshop / Playground

The End of Things, Part 1 – redone

the-end-of-things-part-1-redone-2-10-13

August 11, 2006: I reached a point in my life where I thought I had the maximum volume of “things” that I would ever have – or ever wanted to have. Two houses, two motorcycles, two trucks, two trailers, 24 guitars, tons of tools, thousands of board feet of lumber and the  feeling that the weight of owning, maintaining, securing and paying taxes and insurance on all that stuff was tipping the scales away from enjoyment and towards burden. I knew it was time to start unburdening and  had just sold one of my motorcycles on E-Bay. But before I delivered it, I wanted to document the moment of maximum density.

The abandoned shopping mall across the street from my house seemed a perfect place to celebrate my view from the top of my heap of stuff, so I went about setting up my photo shoot. I had originally wanted to haul all my vehicles, guitars and tools out for the photo, but decided to just shoot the fleet of vehicles for practical reasons. After a couple of hours of moving vehicles, I parked my camera on top of my 12 foot step ladder, set the self timer and started shooting.

I got back into this set of photos last night and started reworking the pictures using some new photo editing techniques. Will post some more as time allows.

9 responses

  1. I thought my Mike was the crazy guitar collector with 5 or 6 but 24?????????? Wow! impressive!
    love this pic.

    February 10, 2013 at 8:18 pm

    • J Moser

      Thanks, Sarah. The guitar collection is down to less than 10 now. In 2006 I reached the top of stuff mountain. On the way down the other side now!

      February 10, 2013 at 9:09 pm

  2. NICE!

    Been fighting the blues for awhile now and have been doing this app a lot tonight, it helps somewhat : http://new.weavesilk.com/

    I’m curious if one went all the way to LA for Mardi Gras and are not in New Orleans, where would they be? Is there a link??

    Sorry I’ve just forgotten……….

    February 10, 2013 at 10:03 pm

  3. J Moser

    Ot, they are in La., for Louisiana, bouncing back and forth between Lafayette, Eunice, Mamou, Appelousas, Iota and other small towns in the southwest part of the state. I suppose this link is as good as any (from our trip there with Roto Bro in 2008): http://thedailymuse.org/2009/08/02/mamou/

    February 10, 2013 at 10:36 pm

  4. Guess you have to be there : http://www.iotamardigras.com/main.html

    See where those conehead hats are from now. Still clueless about not going to the big show if already there. suchaslife……..

    February 10, 2013 at 11:01 pm

    • J Moser

      Rotobro had similar things to say the whole time he traveled around with us in ’08. Having never been to New Orleans, I have nothing to compare the Mamou experience to. The country Mardi Gras has its own character. If you’ve ever spent time hanging out with hunters and fishermen, it’s pretty easy to fit right in. Plus they got some good rootball back in those swamps.

      February 10, 2013 at 11:09 pm

  5. thirdeyeguy

    Super Fantastico – Always loved this photo. Great example of putting some work into the photograph, and it paying off big.

    February 11, 2013 at 11:26 pm

    • J Moser

      Thanks! I know it must be good if you say so. You are a very discerning viewer, with your three eyes and all.

      February 12, 2013 at 9:27 am

  6. Pingback: The End of Things – Part 2.1 | The Indigenous Fish

Leave a Reply

