Welcome to John Moser's Image Workshop / Playground

Movie Trailer – Part 1

opening-scene

I’m very excited about an animated movie project I’m working on currently. This picture is the setting for the opening scene. The project will bring together video, still images and music sourced from several years of original material that I’ve collected while working and playing with a group of Richmond youth – now Richmond men approaching their dotage –  who have been creating together off-and-on for over 40 years. We informally call ourselves the “Power Cave.” I hope to be able to finish this project soon, though working on it takes me away from important things. Learning how to make animation has been on my list of goals for a long time, though, and right now I’m really enjoying this. I’m getting the same feeling I had last year at this time when I started working on the MIRA series. Too much fun.

9 responses

  1. Oh, this is going to be so much fun! I can’t wait.

    January 4, 2013 at 5:00 pm

  2. No – THIS is “important things”

    January 4, 2013 at 5:43 pm

  3. I love the artwork and can’t wait to see more! I’d put the art on my homepage if you’re interested. Of course I would add – if you want waste less, use less stuff….:)

    January 4, 2013 at 6:17 pm

  4. J Moser

    Thanks for all the encouragement, everyone! Sharon, it’s yours to use if you want!

    January 4, 2013 at 7:01 pm

  5. The O3 studio, pictured, was modeled after the Creek houses on Craigs Creek in Botetourt County where we spent a lot of our summers in the 90’s while visiting my wife’s mother in Covington, VA. Althea is in the mountains now with a broken toe at her Aunt Fayes funeral. Her mom must be really hurting. God bless my mountain in-laws they have been wonderful to know. The front windows are 19th century from a friends house in Hanover County, the side is from a metal door which was damaged when BigK’s house was broken into when he lived in southside. The sides are hardy sheets which were cheaper than T-111 when built.

    It was a great place to drink beer when I was Joe six-pack, a lot of memories, and MORE.

    p.s. My Rx issues for my new glasses has been resolved finally by the adjustment of the panotoscopic tilt. A new word for me,lol! I’m finally adjusting to them and it’s a major relief. There are alot more factors of just putting your prescription in a pair of 1920’s glasses and having it work correctly. I guess I’m just trouble, chuckle.

    I think my panorama of the Hoffbauer Murals may be out at the bookstore now in the February 2013 issue of “Civil War Times”. They don’t credit their photographs, I’m not concerned, it’s beautiful. Some people see me in Spielberg’s LINCOLN, some don’t, I guess that’s my Motis operandi?
    No credit for that either?

    And finally some of the light bulbs in our “Eden Pure” knock off have blown which heats our house. The company is shipping me new ones, that’s going to be an interesting replacement task. Been able to keep house at 70 regardless with my other loved space heaters that I love to discuss about fondly (Big LoL)!!!!!!!!!

    January 4, 2013 at 8:43 pm

  6. J Moser

    The O3 studio is the perfect setting for my project! I actually have been planning this video since 2009, when the photo was taken (I snuck into your back yard one morning back then to get the shot).

    January 5, 2013 at 1:03 am

    • I’m still looking forward to seeing the footage from your good camera you shot of a night you played guitar next to the pot belly stove? Maybe your 49th birthday.

      What I took from being on the Spielberg set were the wide shots he did on a fairly tight set. It’s all about the framing. Hours were spent on changing the lighting which made it tedious.

      My dragonfly footage from the summer I wish I could figure a way to make it into an art film more watchable.

      At least I got the great footage a couple of weeks ago of Shahrzad that was unexpected. I didn’t have to do much she stayed in the frame just by luck. I have some great footage of Khalima but nothing like that drum dance that I caught of Shahrzad. There doesn’t seem to be much interest in the tripod I shot it on yet but there will be. I’ve started shooting still photography with it too.

      January 5, 2013 at 10:22 am

  7. and of course this wonderful piece I made for Sarah Beck after “the dog park calamity” .

    January 5, 2013 at 10:42 am

Leave a Reply

