Welcome to John Moser's Image Workshop / Playground

Their Ship Has Sailed

It’s almost time for our annual attempt to vacation at Cape Hatteras, and I thought it might be a good time to post a series of drawings from our trip there in 2008.

The drawing above is by Frank Heller. Frank and I have collaborated on several drawing series, and he agreed to work with me on a series of pirate themed drawings. Frank made his drawings in Richmond, and I made mine in Cape Hatteras.

Above: Another drawing by Frank. He and I were co-workers at one time and had vacationed together at the beach a couple of times before… That’s where the origin of the collaboration started – it was either make jig saw puzzles or draw, and we chose drawing.

The drawing above is one of mine. This gets a bit hard to explain, but Frank and I had previously done a series of drawings on the theme of “Rebel Without a Cause,” where each of our drawings was on the subject of rebels without something. In that series, Frank had done a drawing called “Reb’l Without an R,” so I answered in this series with my “Pirate Without an Arrrgh.” You kind of had to be there. Maybe I’ll post the rebel drawings, too.

Another one of my drawings, above. I think I got my tendency to make bad puns from my father.

…and Frank Heller has the same tendency, as shown in his drawing, above.

Weird minds think alike, I guess, because, even though Frank (who made the drawing above) and I were working hundreds of miles apart, we both came up with the same idea (my drawing is below).

The pirate theme proved to be fertile territory, rich with cultural references, as I explored above…

… and open to cross-pollination with more modern subjects, as Frank demonstrates above, and below.

The road to Hatteras is lined with vegetable stands and everywhere you go you see references to the famous pirate, Blackbeard (Edward Teach), and as these things became mixed up in my mind, I made what was maybe my best drawing of the series:

…although I think the one below was my personal favorite, which it required that I take a photograph of my own face to get the best evocation of a crying pirate:

But Frank gets the final word, here. Poor guy couldn’t get to the beach for this trip, and had to stay home watching TV:

2 responses

  1. This is my favorite pano from your past trips that you never did the bigger version of :

    August 16, 2012 at 11:34 pm

  2. Roheenie

    Arr-r-rrr! We’re headed to Teach’s Lair in just a few days now! Shiver me timbers!

    August 19, 2012 at 4:34 pm

Leave a Reply

