Welcome to John Moser's Image Workshop / Playground

Rock Hopping

The James River granite is giving me the fever to make images again. Or maybe I’m just overdue for an episode.

Belle Island, in downtown Richmond, divides the river in half, and a dam was constructed across the river at the head of the island
to divert flow into an old hydro-electric plant (long ago abandoned).

These days, a breach in the dam sends almost all the river flow to the north side of the island, leaving the river bed exposed on the south side.

The exposed rocks on the south side  are quite eroded and beautiful – in their own way – as the song says.

I read somewhere that these rocks – referred to as part of the “Petersburg granite” by geologists – have been featured in geology textbooks.

For my purposes, these rock formations and stagnant pools are “ready made” for imagining and imaging.

I used to come here to fish for the river chubs and catfish that get trapped in the larger pools when the river flow is low.

It’s fun to re-discover this place. I may have to come down here more often. Maybe for morning runs along the nearby Buttermilk trail.

3 responses

  1. LOVE THE PURPLE FLOWER!!!!!

    August 9, 2012 at 8:51 am

    • J Moser

      I thought of you when I was making this picture!

      August 9, 2012 at 9:35 am

  2. I too love that stand alone effect of the flowers. I did a river totem as such that is one of my favorites, will have to try more of :

    August 10, 2012 at 11:54 am

Leave a Reply

