Welcome to John Moser's Image Workshop / Playground

Return to the Pipeline

Our day at Richmond’s “Pipeline” rapids last week left me wanting more, and I was able to spend a few hours there today, exploring.

I took the telephoto lens and got much closer to the Osprey nest, this time. I happened to get there at Osprey lunchtime.

I also took my fishing rod, hoping to find huge smallmouth bass in the excellent looking habitat, which is mostly known for catfish.
But the fish were not cooperating, so I spent most of my time looking for creatures in the eroded rocks of the riverbed.

After a couple of hours, I was starting to get too much sun, so I headed back home.
I am thinking I’ll be back to this area again, though. The access into the river at this place is easy,
and it is not quite the mob scene that you find at Belle Island or the Pony Pasture.

 

5 responses

  1. I’ve been pineing bad for a telephoto lens and have watched “The Birds 1963” as recommended by Dotsy. It turns out they raised their crows and Ravens from eggs for the movie because they were too smart to be caught. There is a incredible photo of Tippi with a Raven that gives you a scale of how much bigger birds they are. This is just a crow production shot.

    You’ll be Heron watching soon! “Gone to the Birds” gets into your blood (LOL)!
    p.s. It’s as bad as fishing……………….

    August 8, 2012 at 11:59 am

  2. J Moser

    Your built in telephoto was doing a better job than my standard zoom the other day for the hawk shots at 17th street. By the way, somebody told me that bird was a Peregrine Falcon. I’m not surprised about the Hitchcock crew having to raise their own crows. Those are some wiley critters and I’ve never run across anybody who has seen a baby or a nest! I’ve been wanting to get together for a pano / M.I.R.A. party lately, but all my trips have involved rock hopping and rapid wading. Weezie and I went out this morning to the rocky area south of Belle Island… We had to quit when I noticed that Weezie was looking pretty exhausted. I’ll have some more photos to post soon.

    August 8, 2012 at 12:28 pm

  3. The fifth photo looks like an early drawing by you.

    WordPress has started some new word links to adds from our text. A small price to pay for having such wonderful blogs.

    August 10, 2012 at 12:00 pm

  4. I think I got the MIRA shot of an image I had seen 25 years ago :

    August 13, 2012 at 10:16 pm

  5. p.s. I had an add on in my Chrome Browser that was making ads on words on our blogs. I should have known it wasn’t WordPress. It was called Rival Gaming. Geez, you really have to keep your eyes pealed on these machines.

    August 13, 2012 at 10:20 pm

Leave a Reply

