Welcome to John Moser's Image Workshop / Playground

Working in a Building

It has been a busy winter and spring! It is very good to be busy again after the huge slump of the recent (ongoing) world economic meltdown that has had an amazing impact on a close and personal level. I am just in awe (and mad!) to feel the effects of fat-cat greed trickling down and making withdrawals directly from my wallet.

Lately, I am feeling a tiny bit better. I’ve had three projects going at once, and, even though I am now working harder, for longer hours and for less money that I used to make, I am, at least, bringing in some dough. I suppose this is the reality of the new world dis-order, though the fat-cats just seem to be getting fatter all the time!

But there are good things: I feel good that I (with the help and support of my lovely, lively wife) have finished one of my three current projects and am about to finish the second one (pictured here). I feel good to be actually selling my photography for the first time ever – the panorama pictured above is one of my photos. I feel good to be an old dog who is learning new tricks – that panorama is the largest print I’ve ever made (16 feet long x 3 feet tall) and required a leap of faith and a belief that it could be done. …and I feel lucky that I’ve been able to do many things like this – things I didn’t know how to do when I started out, but was able to imagine and then sweat into existence.

2 responses

  1. sarahlight22

    Please tell us more about the St Joseph’s Villa exhibit.

    June 1, 2012 at 1:02 pm

    • J Moser

      Hi Sarah, sorry I got off on a rant about the economy there… The villa exhibit was commissioned to celebrate the history and values of the organization at the completion of a recent campus upgrade project. We are making 3 pieces that we are installing in an entrance area of the administration building. One piece (not shown above because I’m still working on it) has pictures of children and words (like “compassion” and “hope”) that convey core values of the institution. The piece shown above under the “Saint Joseph’s Villa” sign is a timeline / overview of their history starting in 1834 and continuing through the present. The third piece is the large panorama shown on the wall above that shows the upgraded campus.

      This project is a bit unusual for us. We are more used to making exhibits in public museums where there are specific educational objectives, while this work is more of a commemorative kind project.

      June 1, 2012 at 1:51 pm

Leave a Reply

