Welcome to John Moser's Image Workshop / Playground

Heart of Darkness

Last week in summary:

– Wednesday night, up ’till dawn finishing some graphics for a presentation on Thursday.
– Thursday night, up ’till 3AM finishing a proposal for delivery on Friday,
– 200 mile road trip on Friday so I could deliver the bid on time, then
– Friday night, gig with the Mag Bats at Cary Street Cafe’, got home at 2:30AM, then
had to unload all the music gear and load all the fishing gear so I could get up on
– Saturday morning to participate in a fishing tournament in Nelson County.

Here’s a clip from the gig Friday night. There is some deep, Friday the 13th conjuring up
of the spirit from the darkness on 3 hours of sleep in here:

Mag Bats-Down-By-The-River-4-13-12

Well, I finally got down by the river at noon, and I did well in the tournament,
even though the rest of my fishing club had a 4 hour head start on me.
I felt good all day,  even caught (and released) a trophy fish! …And I took a pile of pictures,
but discovered at the end of the day that I had underexposed all the photos!
I mean they were super dark, the heart of darkness, some of them looked completely black!

This was my first trip on the water in 2012. I had been looking forward to getting out on the river
to photograph a whole new class of rootballs, and I went to great effort shooting these pictures
while floating in a canoe in fast current, running my trolling motor with one hand
and holding the camera with the other, while looking through the viewfinder.

So, I’ve been trying to rescue them today, and here are a few –

11 responses

  1. sarahlight22

    Nice rescue job. I especially like the bony one and the fish. Amazing what you can do with so little sleep.

    April 16, 2012 at 12:53 pm

    • J Moser

      Hey Sarah….by the way, you got me hooked on “Fringe.” Thought you’d like to know!

      April 16, 2012 at 4:01 pm

      • sarahlight22

        Yay Fringe. I am happy to take the blame. Have you seen it from the beginning or just picked up on it recently?

        April 16, 2012 at 5:34 pm

  2. J Moser

    I’m watching from the beginning with Netflix DVDs.

    April 16, 2012 at 5:59 pm

    • sarahlight22

      Enjoy the ride! Do you watch Eureka?

      April 16, 2012 at 7:03 pm

  3. I am Boatdog

    I guess that’s next.

    April 16, 2012 at 10:58 pm

  4. J Moser

    OK, had to return my “Fringe” DVD today and started watching “Eureka” streaming on Netflix. This could be trouble. Massive Dynamic (Fringe), Global Dynamics (Eureka)! What the?

    April 18, 2012 at 11:25 am

    • sarahlight22

      All those smart shows are very dynamic! Eureka just started its 5th season so you have some catching up to do. Next…Doctor Who!

      April 18, 2012 at 12:03 pm

  5. I’ve been harping about FRINGE for years, even have FRINGE #1 comic book : http://otway.wordpress.com/2008/10/23/als-favorite-new-show/

    Great Photos! How did your new azaleas look in bloom???

    April 18, 2012 at 8:24 pm

    • J Moser

      I do seem to remember some harping.

      April 18, 2012 at 9:04 pm

Leave a Reply

