Welcome to John Moser's Image Workshop / Playground

Walking in Woods on a Blowy Evening

I know these woods, I think,
I come here twice a day to drink
and take in what is here
and reach the bottom of the creek

My little dog must think it queer
to leave cleared paths through woods and steer
Between the briars and fallen logs
day after day, year after year.

She tugs her leash but comes along
accepting that there’s nothing wrong
and when I stop to study roots
she waits and rolls and sings her song.

The woods seem plain and dark and mute
But then, I promised I would look
and take the dog each day on foot
and make the world of fallen logs.

Most will recognize that the poem above is adapted from Robert Frost’s “Stopping by Woods on a Snowy Evening.”
I used the same structure and rhyming pattern and I tried to follow Frost’s ideas and adapt them to what I wanted to say.
I even tried to emulate the “voice” of Frost’s poem. Robert Frost is one of my heroes!
A link to his poem is here:
http://www.poetryfoundation.org/poem/171621

6 responses

  1. Your new template is a wonderful frame for these gorgeous creations. I particularly like the tones and saturation of the MIRA images, and the large display size.

    February 26, 2012 at 1:31 pm

    • J Moser

      Thanks! The new template popped up randomly on the WordPress feed, but once I tried it, I immediately liked it.

      February 26, 2012 at 3:06 pm

  2. O3

    I picked upped a closed pine cone at Mitch’s last month to photograph and left it on Althea’a dash board of which it has opened (still there). NICE SHOT!

    February 26, 2012 at 9:03 pm

    • J Moser

      Reminds me of this old Gram Parsons song I’ve been listening to lately (performed here by Gillian Welch)

      February 27, 2012 at 2:46 am

  3. Love the poem too!

    February 27, 2012 at 12:29 am

    • J Moser

      Thanks, Sarah! I had so much fun writing that poem that I missed half of Saturday Night Live last night. It’s probably obvious that the poem is based on one of Robert Frost’s best known poems. But just in case, I added a bit to the end of my post just now explaining about Frost’s poem and added a link to it.

      February 27, 2012 at 2:43 am

Leave a Reply

