Welcome to John Moser's Image Workshop / Playground

M.I.R.A. Goes to the Movies

While I’ve been working on still images using the mirror effect, I’ve found that very minor movements of the mirror line or just a slight change in camera angle can produce amazing changes in the images. “Creatures” appear and then vanish frequently. So, it seems natural to try this with video. Here is my first test of the idea:

Ultimately, I’m really more into the still images, but this is fun, too. I have a ways to go as a video editor and am rapidly learning how hard it is to get smooth motion with my current set of tools. But I s’pose I’ll keep trying.

2 responses

  1. Robin Eshleman

    OK – couldn’t get past the stills & the profile pic this morning, but just checked out this video. AWE-SIMMM!
    Is that you playing guitar in the background?

    Also – how did I get a quilt square as a gravatar (had to look THAT up, too!)

    February 6, 2012 at 1:32 pm

    • boatdog

      Thank gnu. The music on the video is some of my stuff, recorded here in the basement during one of our many floods. I did some songs for a VCU documentary on Gary Sange. You can watch the whole thing here, if you like (it’s 30 minutes, I think). I did all the songs for the video, including a banjo composition composed especially for the donkey scene.

      http://www.vcutvhd.vcu.edu/shows/insideout/sange.html

      …and the Gravatar thing is weird, I know.

      February 6, 2012 at 1:45 pm

Leave a Reply

