Welcome to John Moser's Image Workshop / Playground

Twilight in Bryan Park 2

The i-phone pictures at twilight yesterday had a haunting quality that got me thinking about trying to create a similar effect with my “real” camera. Twenty four hours later, I am officially obsessed with this idea.

I’m so obsessed that I’m having a hard time pulling away from making the pictures long enough to post them.

But I managed to upload these four. Now I gotta get back to making more!

Images shot with a Canon 7D, and mashed up pretty thoroughly in Photoshop

7 responses

  1. Robin Eshleman

    These are pretty awesome photos. I thought they were sculptures at first, but they’re naturally formed, yes??

    February 1, 2012 at 9:46 am

    • boatdog

      Thanks! Yes, these are all made from pre-existing stuff… root balls mostly. I divide them down the center line and then make a mirror image of 1/2 of the photo to create the effect.

      February 1, 2012 at 10:39 am

  2. Very organic parlor tricks.

    LOVE!!!

    February 1, 2012 at 2:37 pm

    • boatdog

      Thanks, 03. I’ve done about 3 dozen more since these. I can’t stop. …Help me.

      February 1, 2012 at 3:05 pm

  3. You may be able to market this to the Shrinks for a newer edition to
    the Rorschach test.

    You are in good company!
    http://www.flickr.com/groups/mirrormade/

    February 1, 2012 at 6:18 pm

    • boatdog

      The Flickr link is good info. Thanks! It’s an interesting looking bunch of work. Haven’t seen anything quite like what I’m doing yet. I’m hoping to become the king of rootball anthropomorphism.

      February 1, 2012 at 7:26 pm

  4. This is across from where Rodney puts in his boat in on the Little River. Wish I had taken more pictures of it. It’s huge! Remember if you go fishing with him about this. Now that Rodney has frozen shoulder we may need to start a band of courage club for that. Wonder if he’ll still want to go fishing since he popped his shoulder casting?

    February 1, 2012 at 9:42 pm

Leave a Reply

