Welcome to John Moser's Image Workshop / Playground

Getting There

We started out at dawn at the Charlotte airport and made it onto our flight after airport security confiscated our bottle of champaign and our sun block.

I hadn’t flown in more than a decade and so entertaining myself by staring out at the ocean during our four hour flight was pretty easy. But, as we approached our destination in St. Martins, I started seeing thousands of light brown colored patches in the water that I assumed were remnants from the BP Oil spill that happened in the Gulf of Mexico last year. The oil spots were everywhere! As we got closer to our destination and the plane descended, it became more and more obvious that the oil spill has not gone away. I was unable to photograph them because I had to shut down my electronics just as we were getting low enough for a good photo.

Arriving on the island, getting through customs, renting a car and getting to our hotel was not a very encouraging experience. The place mostly looks like it’s falling apart, nobody was friendly at first, and the roads were a mess. My nose for direction led us to the hotel more than anything else, and we found the place by heading down a dirt road that looked like a fire trail. Upon arrival, the first room we tried was not ready. The second had no electricity. I finally asked for an “upgrade” and we got a pretty nice room on the 3rd floor with a breezy balcony and electricity. Well, it has electricity, but after trying to turn on the ceiling fan for about 15 minutes, I realized there was no wire connected to it!

After a short nap on the very adequate bed, we headed out for some dinner and found a really nice French restaurant

where the waiters treated us really well and the food was excellent. They started us off with a “Bouche’ Amusee” (sp?) that was a cauliflower gaspacho. It was out of this world! Talia said her bouche’ was definitely amused! The rest of the meal was just excellent and they gave us a bottle of run mixed with cranberry juice on the house to finish it off. Things are looking up!

5 responses

  1. Robin Eshleman

    Happy Anniversary, John & Talia!!!

    October 3, 2011 at 10:10 am

  2. Hey Guys,
    Happy Anniversary,
    I love you guys so very much! John, you totally crack me up and Talia, you are so beautiful. Have fun.
    Love,
    Al

    October 5, 2011 at 11:41 pm

  3. Just noticed Althea’s comment with my avatar above, ditto for me! I was on set today for the movie being filmed in town. Can’t say much about it, but I did make being an extra and I am extremely humbled by having the opportunity of being part of it. I bought the Doris Kearns Goodwin book today to read.

    October 7, 2011 at 1:06 am

  4. boatdog

    Thanks, all. We got back safe after an amazing week and an arduous flight home. I stopped posting during the trip due to difficulty with the internet connection at the hotel. Now that we’re home the computer is stitching panoramas while we get back in gear, and I hope to have a bunch of new things to post.

    Update on this post: The oil spots in the water may have been patches of floating seaweed. …still checking on it.

    October 9, 2011 at 6:37 pm

  5. I hope you two had a glorious time in your tropical paradise. Glad you made it back safely.

    October 10, 2011 at 2:06 pm

Leave a Reply

