Welcome to John Moser's Image Workshop / Playground

Infinity

infinity_HDR2-8-bit-v2

This object changed my life. At age 12, I had a few formative experiences that set my tone, career wise. One was making a sculpture in art class. The teacher had us make clay faces. She told us we’d look back at the face we made in future years and see ourselves. Mine turned out to be me about 10 years in the future.

Another experience was when the NASA astronauts came to our school and did a presentation that included a talk on space age materials. For some reason the lightweight “honeycomb” wall panel material they showed made an impression that stuck. A lifelong interest in raw materials followed, and now I have rooms full of stored materials that I find compelling in their un-fashioned state. Did the NASA people tingle my sculptural nerve, or simply nurture a future hoarder?

Then there was the time I was first allowed to go downtown on a bus by myself and I went to see “Goldfinger” at Loew’s Theater. The scene where James Bond barely avoids castration by laser was impressive. I followed that with my first term paper, on the subject of lasers, and the strong feeling that I wanted to be a scientist when I grew up.

But the trip to the American History Museum in Washington, D.C. and the Möbius strip-like sculpture out front was the most overpowering experience. I knew I wanted to be a sculptor after that.

One response

  1. boatdog

    An interview with Jose De Rivera:

    http://www.aaa.si.edu/collections/oralhistories/transcripts/derive68.htm

    October 25, 2009 at 2:36 pm

Leave a Reply

