Welcome to John Moser's Image Workshop / Playground

The Walking Stick

walking-stick-photmerge-2

More work related travel took me to Shenandoah River State Park today. Again, not a dime was made, but, after the work was done and before I left the park, I stopped at a little overlook to photograph some river scenery. After I’d finished the photo session, I was packing up the motorcycle for the ride home and noticed that a strange insect had taken a liking to my motorcycle jacket. It looked sort of like a praying mantis, but it had no wings, no large grasping front legs and was colored differently. It looked like a walking stick, which I had never seen here in Virginia before.

I was forced to handle it so I could get it off my jacket, and when I put out my hand it crawled right on. It was very easy to handle and did not seem in a hurry to get away. It crawled from my hand to my forearm and assumed a stick like position, parallel to my arm. In fact, every time I put it in my hand, it immediately crawled to my forearm and struck a stick-like pose. It became the subject of a second photo shoot, and the picture here is the first result.

This picture was made from 15 separate photos shot with a close-up lens, panning from a single vantage point. I was intending to make a panorama with a wide pan vertically and horizontally, but my battery died after the first vertical pass. When I got home, I used Photoshop CS3 to “photomerge” the photos I got into a vertical panorama. This was my first use of Photomerge in CS3. So, far, it looks to be much better than any other panoramic software I’ve tried. Autostitch could not compute on this one.

5 responses

  1. O3

    “Many stick insects are easy to care for, and make good pets. Almost 300 species have been reared in captivity.”

    Warning: Walking Sticks can escape and become ecological pests

    http://www.biology.ualberta.ca/locke.hp/walk_sticks.htm

    September 16, 2009 at 8:13 am

  2. boatdog

    I wanted to bring this one home with me for a pet. It had soul.

    September 16, 2009 at 8:20 am

  3. Roheenie

    Chonnie – you continue to blow me away. This is beautiful. Also….walking sticks abound up on the mountain; especially this time of year. They are, in fact, wonderful and gentle little creatures. So…..I think it’s time you print out some of these panos and frame them for your sister’s birthday present….like this walking stick!

    September 22, 2009 at 10:14 am

  4. Roheenie

    Further remarks about printing out include many comments from those at work looking over my shoulder….statements being “I would definitely buy that one!” So…………………………………..

    September 22, 2009 at 10:22 am

  5. boatdog

    THANKS! …..I am(I mean my work is) definitely for sale, he said as he sat trying to pay a stack of bills.

    September 22, 2009 at 10:31 am

Leave a Reply

